GO!

Luxating Patellas In Dachshunds

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

Jazzy

momma's little- monster, the- terrorist,

Barked: Mon Apr 15, '13 10:50pm PST 
So last night after returning from the dog park my boyfriend and I had noticed that our mini wirehair dachshund Jazz was limping on his left back leg. Being a vet tech I had assessed his hind leg to find out what may be bothering him in his left hind leg. I did a toe pinch to see if he pulls his leg away. Sadly, he did not react to the toe pinch the way I would have liked him to. I also flipped his toes upside down to see if he would immediately correct his foot which he did. So that was a good sign. I brought him to my work so one of the doctors could take a look at him. He told me that Jazz's hip, femur, tibia, and fibula felt fine. But he had noticed that Jazz has a Luxating patella. I do know that Luxating patellas occur more in small dogs than large dogs. I just don't know a lot about the luxating patella besides the fact that the patella slides in and out of the knee joint. I will be taking Jazz into work with me tomorrow to do knee rads to see how severe the luxating patella is. My question is how severe does the the luxating patella need to be to have surgery on it? If its just a mild case of Luxating Patella, can Jazz live a normal life without having surgery? How can it affect him if he doesn't have surgery? Has anybody ever had a successful knee surgery for their dogs? If so please tell me about your experiences. Being that Jazz is a dachshund, we all know that they have short stubby legs, I'm wondering if the Luxating patella affects the dachshunds more than other small/toy breeds. I'm very concerned for my baby boy and hoping and praying that he doesn't have to have surgery