GO!

Grinding Raw Bones

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Pedro

Barked: Wed Feb 13, '13 7:07pm PST 
Hello,

I'm new to dogster and new to the do it yourself raw. A little history- I have been feeding Pedro a raw organic diet from DarwinsPet.com for about 6 mos and its going great. However 108$ per 20lbs order for one dog is too much, especially since I'm wanting to switch my other chihuahua and my upcoming rottweiler puppy to that as well.

Since my dogs are small I need to grind the bones. Any experience using the KitchenAid mixer attachment for this? Any suggestions? I found an old thread with this topic from 2010, but would love some updated advice!
[notify]
Kolbe

Where can I run- today?

Barked: Thu Feb 14, '13 8:45am PST 
Hi, any particular reason you need to grind bones?

I have never used a grinder but from my understanding the KitchenAid attachment may not meet this demand... you might need something a little more robust/industrial. There are some people with grinders on here so hopefully one of them may chime in with an exact name and model for you -- I know sometimes they are costly new, but maybe you could find a used one somewhere.
[notify]
Cookie

the chi-weenie

Barked: Thu Feb 14, '13 3:49pm PST 
It's really not necessary to grind the bone. I have an 8 lb dog and she can eat all kinds of bones. But for the smallest of dogs, I suggest chicken necks and chicken wing pieces.

Little dogs really benefit from chewing raw meaty bones, their mouths are small and compact and so their teeth are harder to stay clean.