GO!

Service dog questions

The Service and Therapy Dog forum is for all service and therapy dogs regardless of whether or not their status is legally defined by federal or state law, how they are trained, or whether or not they are "certified." Posts questioning or disputing a person's need for a service or therapy dog, the validity of a person's service or therapy dog, or the dog's ability to do the work of a service or therapy dog are not permitted in this forum. Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times.

Monyah

Barked: Fri Jul 20, '12 11:44pm PST 
I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia about 9 months ago. Some days are really hard for me and I find it difficult to do much on those days.

I was considering getting a dog to train to be a SD. I've been researching it off and on for several months just trying to get everything sorted in my head.

There aren't any SD trainers in my area that I can find (Oklahoma). I was thinking that the best route would just be to start with basic obedience classes and work our way up with me training the SD stuff on the side. I have trained other dogs (more than sit, come, stay etc) so I have a bit of experience but clearly not SD level.

I was wondering what advice you could offer me on training and stuff. Also wondering if there's any good books or dvds on it. I'm not sure whether to get an adult or a puppy yet either. I'm keeping my options open at the moment.

Also, I've contacted some service dog places in other states. The prices they're asking for some of the service dogs seems really low. Is there a way to tell if they're legit?
[notify]
Scooter

Work hard; Play- harder.

Barked: Sat Jul 21, '12 1:38pm PST 
Most of the non-profits don't ask for a lot of money.
[notify]
Ollivander

Super Silver- Service Spoodle

Barked: Sun Jul 22, '12 8:30pm PST