Postings by Mali's Family

GO!

(Page 1 of 40: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Last 10 entry]  

Puppy Place > Desperate for help with house breaking puppy
Button

Barked: Thu Apr 17, '14 10:42am PST 
I have always had BIG dogs, Button was my first small dog and I was not prepared for how much longer it would take to house train him.
I started training him to pup papers, the cheapest ones I could find. When he went on the paper I made a big deal out of it, like Santa was coming kinds of Big deal.

I also named what I wanted him to do, “Potty” by saying the name repeatedly every time he went on the paper and every time I caught him doing it outside.
My reason for this is so he will learn to go when I ask him to, for traveling, rainy, or very hot or cold days.

Once he got that idea, I moved the paper close to the door.. so we would notice when he went to use them and take him right out.

Still this took a lot longer than with my BIG dogs. Button was close to 5 months before he was regular, and even then there was an accident every now and then.

He turned 1 year in March and now he is totally house trained. Small/tiny dogs are harder on the hole from what I have heard from breeders.
[notify]
» There has since been 0 posts. Last posting by Button, Thu 10:42 am

Small Dogs > Crusty Teeth At Only 1 Year- Advice?
Button

Barked: Thu Apr 17, '14 10:27am PST 
Button like all of my dogs is raw fed. None of them have any problems with tarter on their teeth. The big girls (except one who will be 4)are all 6 years old with very white teeth.
[notify]
» There has since been 0 posts. Last posting by Button, Thu 10:27 am

Choosing the Right Dog > Small, Quiet low shedder...

Button

Barked: Thu Apr 17, '14 10:05am PST