GO!

Unusual agility breeds?

Running, catching, leaping; this is the forum to discuss dog sports and agility training with other active pups!

(Page 1 of 6: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  5  6  
Bruno CGC

Honorary Kelpie

Barked: Sat Jun 23, '12 3:52pm PST 
Thinking of the "unusual PPD breeds" thread... what unusual breeds have you seen doing agility? I'm just getting into the sport, and been to my first top-tier event (as a spectator) and while the majority of high level dogs were either Border Collies, Aussies, or Shelties (and some Corgis, Labs, JRTs, Papillons, etc) there were definitely some outliers. One GSD. One Husky. A Weimaraner. A bunch of All-American mutts. smile

We've already had "what breeds are best for agility?" threads, getting common answers, so I'm curious about the more esoteric choices... What's the most unusual/rarest breed you've seen being truly successful in agility? (either an overall super-rare breed, or a more common breed that is rare in the sport.)
[notify]
Mya CGC TDI

I'm your new- best friend! Pet- me!

Barked: Sat Jun 23, '12 4:26pm PST 
Well, I don't know how they qualify for unusual, but at the local agility trials there are a LOT of Dobermans and English Springer Spaniels.

I have also seen Tervs and others in the Belgian Sheepdog family doing agility. Those are probably the most rare that I have personally seen.

Oh! There is a soft coated wheaten terrier that does agility that I know of!

ETA: I have seen a pittie girl too! If I think of more, I'll add them laugh out loud

Edited by author Sat Jun 23, '12 4:28pm PST

[notify]
Maggie

im a squeaker

Barked: Sat Jun 23, '12 4:40pm PST 
My Maggie girl does agility and has been successful, she is a longhaired mini dachshund...I know a good amount of doxies that do agility but most people think that they are rare in the sport.
[notify]

Missy

Miss- Pig!

Barked: Sat Jun 23, '12 4:42pm PST