GO!

Agility classes or train on own?

Running, catching, leaping; this is the forum to discuss dog sports and agility training with other active pups!

(Page 2 of 2: Viewing entries 11 to 16)  
1  2  
Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Sun May 13, '12 9:16pm PST 
I have been running agility for more than 10 years as have a number of friends. Everybody I know is in classes and I know people with Platinum level titles in USDAA and I don't know how many II behind the MACHs.

I suspect you would benefit from a private lesson. Maybe just one private would guide you to get the most out of the classes you are in.
[notify]
Rio, CGC,- RL1, CL1, TD

You can't say- that i can't- play!

Barked: Mon May 14, '12 7:24am PST 
What I get most out of my agility class/lesson is having someone there watching MY movements. Even if i filmed and watched every second of practice with my dogs, I wouldn't get the instant feedback that my instructor can give me--"You are pushing in too early here and he's taking it to mean skip that jump and go elsewhere".

Sometimes success is the difference between pushing a foot too early or turning my shoulders just a few degrees too sharp. These are things that I couldn't pick up on without seeing myself run... which I could do if i filmed everything but the feedback comes so far after the behavior that correcting it becomes more difficult. If, while i'm re-running a sequence, I hear "yes!" from my instructor I know I corrected my mistake and we are on the right track.