GO!

Q's about running for beginners, people and dogs.

Running, catching, leaping; this is the forum to discuss dog sports and agility training with other active pups!

Dali

Cow Dog School- Flunk Out

Barked: Wed Feb 15, '12 7:58pm PST 
I am just starting out with my weightloss journey, and I would like to help my dog release some of her herding dog energy. She just turned 1 in January, she is a working line Aussie who weighs around 35-40 lbs. When we go to dog park she seems to be able to run circles around most of the dogs there all day. I would only start out doing at least a mile or so a day and work up. I just dont want to over work her. Please help!
[notify]
Lenny

Lenny -The- Wrecking Ball

Barked: Wed Feb 15, '12 8:37pm PST 
At just a year I'd make sure to not push her too far, even though she isn't a large breed.... I always want to be careful when we're talking about joint health. I'd possibly start giving her joint supplements and it's always a good idea to talk to your vet about what he thinks about her age and the shape of her joints. smile But I had a shepherd with bad hips as she aged... so I think it's just that playing out in my mind a bit.

Other than that, it's just like when we (people) start a training program. Dogs are natural athletes, but still take it slow and watch your dog for any signs of being tired (and most working breeds will work through it, we have to tell em' when to take it easy). I think if you start with just a mile and she does it no problem then I'd do that a while, and make sure you increase the distance in small increments. A mile for a young herding dog probably isn't a problem smile

Be mindful of heat in warmer months, and have water for your pup when you exercise. Also check her pads when you start going on longer distances for any wear or tear.