GO!

Running/speed sports

Running, catching, leaping; this is the forum to discuss dog sports and agility training with other active pups!

Barked: Fri Feb 3, '12 1:14pm PST 
I'm new to the world of dog sports, but I would like to find one that's a good fit for my puppy. He's about 8, almost 9 months old. He's a mix, we aren't entirely sure what, but when we let him run off-leash at the dog park, he's a speed demon with an amazing ability to turn on a dime, and corners like a motocross rider. It's very cool to watch him when he's really going, and I would love to focus that into some type of controlled sport.

I would like to train him for agility as I know he'd be great at it, but just curious if there is anything out there that incorporates flat out speed.
Thanks in advance smile
[notify]
Risa- W-FDM/MF RE- RL1 CA CGC

Awesome Dog

Barked: Fri Feb 3, '12 2:39pm PST 
Lure coursing. wink UKC and AKC offer coursing for mixes as well though the competition is pretty much nil. Non-coursing breeds and mixes run the course solo but can still earn titles. In AKC, if your dog can run the 600 yard course (it's less distance for smaller dogs) in less than 2 minutes, he can earn a leg towards his CA (Coursing Ability) title. You need 3 legs to earn it. After that, another 7 legs will earn you the CAA (Coursing Ability Advanced) and a total of 25 passes earns you the CAX (Coursing Ability Excellent).

If you're lucky, you might find a local group or club that offers lure coursing for fun too.
[notify]

Barked: Fri Feb 3, '12 3:15pm PST 
I've never heard of that, thanks for the info, I would never have found that on my own. smile
[notify]

Zephyr

Barked: Fri Feb 3, '12 3:28pm PST 
I've been trying to get my trainer to set up a lure course but he just laughs at me.

There's skijoring/bikejoring/canicross. It's more about pulling than speed but it works well.

Edited by author Fri Feb 3, '12 3:28pm PST

[notify]

Awesome Dog

Barked: Fri Feb 3, '12 4:40pm PST