GO!

What grooming products would you recommend...

Small dogs have big personality! This is the place to talk up your favorite small breeds, ask questions, and share tips and stories. Be sure to visit our Small Dog Breeds area for profiles of all your favorite small dog breeds, featured articles, and more!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Miles

Giant Shih Tzu

Barked: Wed Nov 24, '10 12:32pm PST 
For a medium sized shih tzu with short hair? I notice his lower back's hair (near his butt) gets brittle over time and the combing is only a temporary solution as in minutes, not hours.

I'd like a recommendation for some kind of dog shampoo, what kind of comb I should use, and other grooming tools you'd recommend!

I'm no expert, so go easy on me party

-sincerely, Miles' owner
[notify]
Jewel, PCD

8.6lbs of fury- in a bow!

Barked: Wed Nov 24, '10 1:32pm PST 
Do you mean it's brittle as in the hair is dry/coarse? thinking

Have you tried a leave-in conditioner/detangler spray? Perhaps an oatmeal based shampoo and conditioner would help also.

Is this the only area that has this issue? Does he have dry skin in that area too?

What grooming tools are you using now?

Sorry more questions than answers. laugh out loud
[notify]
Miles

Giant Shih Tzu

Barked: Wed Nov 24, '10 3:45pm PST 
That's okay! (:

I use baby shampoo, but am tossing it in favor of actual dog shampoo. I don't usually brush since the hair is so short and it really doesn't do much. The comb I use for the dog is also one for a human lol

And yes, the fur is coarse to be exact. Brittle was a bad choice of word.

And I haven't tried any leave in or oatmeal shampoos. Should I use those?

Edited by author Wed Nov 24, '10 3:46pm PST

[notify]

Jewel, PCD

8.6lbs of fury- in a bow!

Barked: Thu Nov 25, '10 7:11am PST 
You might get more help if you post in the Grooming Forum - I've only had Jewel since July but I pester my groomer all the time so I'll tell you what I know!