GO!

Greetings from Oliver!

The Service and Therapy Dog forum is for all service and therapy dogs regardless of whether or not their status is legally defined by federal or state law, how they are trained, or whether or not they are "certified." Posts questioning or disputing a person's need for a service or therapy dog, the validity of a person's service or therapy dog, or the dog's ability to do the work of a service or therapy dog are not permitted in this forum. Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times.

Oliver

Barked: Mon Oct 14, '13 9:01pm PST 
Hi there, I am new to this particular forum, although I have been a member of Dogster for a few years. I have a 6 year old son who has cerebral palsy & is visually impaired, & I am attempting to train 5 month old Oliver to hopefully be a service dog for him. We checked with several programs & they all said there was a several years waiting list, &/or the price was WAY out of our range, so I am attempting it on my own.
Looking for any tips, but please don't try to discourage me from trying, as my son only gets a 1/2 hr of PT a week at school, & gets to see a nurse (sometimes a dr if he is lucky) at Shriners once a year, & that is IT, thanks to the wonderful healthcare in the US . The rest is up to me! confused I believe I can do it, & we are off to a great start, I do have a friend who is a certified dog trainer, so that helps.
Right now we are just doing the puppy thing, he excels at basic obedience, does great on leash, took about 2 minutes each to teach him to sit,lay,speak, shake. He LOVES to retrieve, & is so smart! He really wants to learn, seems to be a mind reader sometimes!
dog
[notify]
Diesel

Barked: Tue Oct 15, '13 3:07pm PST 
How old is Oliver? The first year should be about obedience and socialization. What kind of things do you want Oliver to do for your son? There needs to be 3 things that the dog offers to mitigate his disabilities in order for him to qualify to be a service dog.