GO!

Suggestions on puting my dog to sleep due to Bone Cancer.

Share advice for keeping your aging dog happy and healthy

(Page 1 of 4: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  
Twinkie REST- IN PARADISE

My Best Friend

Barked: Sat May 14, '11 11:25pm PST 
Hi All
I'm new to this even though I've been on dogster for awhile now. I was hoping to get some advice on how I would know when to put my dog to sleep she was diagnosed with bone cancer. She has trouble laying down and getting up she limps but when it comes to food she seems to have no problems getting up to eat. I can see in her eyes that she still has life and my family agrees and they are not really dog people. Any help and suggestions are greatly appreciated. I don't want to keep her alive for myself I only want what is best for her and I truly feel that she wants to be alive.

Thank you
Keith snoopy
[notify]
Bunny

Black dogs rock!

Barked: Sun May 15, '11 3:04am PST 
hug I am very sorry to hear this. I asked my vet friend once how you know it is time to put a dog to sleep. She said " When the bad days out number the good ones." I thought that was a very good guideline. Some people will say that the dog will tell you when it is time. It does not sound like your dog is there just yet. I am sorry you and your dog are going through this.hug
[notify]
Leah, CGC

All the Beauty- with none of the- Brains

Barked: Sun May 15, '11 4:08am PST 
Bone cancer (depending on the type - you weren't specific) can sometimes involve large tumors on the bone that are extremely painful and continue to advance degrading more and more of the bone leading to an increase in the chance of a pathalogic fracture (fracture of the weakened cancerous bone - can happen from something as simple as walking up stairs or getting on/off bed).

Have you concindered amputation of the limb?