GO!

1 1/2 months into raw - Odus is vomiting & not wanting. Help pls

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Odus

Barked: Wed Jul 10, '13 11:14am PST 
I'm still a newbie with raw.

I decided to put Holly & Odus (both shih tzu's 7 & 5 yrs) on raw because Holly has been diagnosed with urine/bladder crystals and I don't agree with the diet the vet wants her on. (Royal Canine which I have learned is full of fillers and by-products). A local pet store suggested raw would be ideal.

It started off great. Started with pre-packaged raw chicken, whole meal. Two picky eaters licked their bowls clean. They looked forward to every meal, were actually excited to eat and once again licked their bowls clean.

Two weeks into raw - I tried tripe. They both loved it - but quickly vomited after. Tried the tripe again the next day - more vomiting. No more tripe.

Back on chicken whole food. Switched brands due to cost. Odus gets picky and prefers the first brand. Back to store - get more of first brand - and on suggestion of store - mix the brands and wean him onto new brand. This worked.

Now a week ago - Odus started not wanting to eat. Would turn his nose up and walk away. I would put it back in fridge and re-offer. Then I started to offer him brand #1 again. He would eat it - but promptly proceed to vomit it again. I've noticed he keeps his morning meal down - but vomits every evening.

Now he doesn't even want to eat his morning meal.

Holly continues to enjoy and love her raw. I just hope it's helping for her crystals.