GO!

Big Mouth

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Jada

Barked: Mon Jun 10, '13 8:09pm PST 
I'm very new to the raw feeding community. Not to my dog's dismay, fortunately. But to mine, I fear for her safety! She's a relatively small/medium breed. She has a huge mouth though, and her history I think keeps her thinking she'll never eat again. She scarfs down food as it it's going to be taken. So, since she's so small, her ideal "meal" (twice a day) is only 3 ozs! So my question is on the raw prey diet thing...it says ideal food should be bigger than or as large as the dog's head. I can see how this would help her from scarfing it down whole. However, in doing that I can't make it weight 3 oz. Maybe I'm thinking too hard about this, but how should this be addressed? A 3 oz slab of chicken I don't even think gets chewed. Dinner when it was kibble was virtually ignored, and then begrudgingly eaten in about 6 minutes. Now her poor dinner is about 4 seconds long!

Please help! smile
[notify]
Charlie &- Zelda

Love at first- sniff <3

Barked: Mon Jun 10, '13 9:02pm PST 
I always recommend that raw (ESPECIALLY meals that include bone) be fed once a day rather than twice a day. If I fed my dogs raw meaty bones that weighed half of their daily intake, it would be a real choking hazard.

I have two "gulpers" (dogs that eat very fast), and I always have to be cautious feeding raw. Any meal they get needs to either be so large that it forces them to chew-- or cut into small pieces to prevent choking, and boneless meals are not exempt from this.