GO!

Min pins old/bad teeth new to raw, need help!!!

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Barked: Mon Apr 8, '13 10:12am PST 
Hello I've recently discovered raw feeding and it's benefits so I'm new to this.
We've got 2 min pins Lefty(12 lbs M) and Josie(5 lbs F) and I'm convinced they
should start raw feeding. They've always been kibble fed and 2 years ago my
mother started feeding them this softened through water. I knew this was bad
and now there teeth are an issue. Lefty will still eat hard food but Josie will swallow them whole.

Lefty issues are far less severe, since a pup he's always carried around a
squeaky toy which has helped clean his teeth. He's never had any pulled, they just
look bad. Josie on the other hand has only one front K-9 left which is loose
and NO other front teeth. Many rear teeth have been pulled. Josie doesn't care
for us to examine here teeth(never has never will) so it's hard to tell exactly how many rear teeth
she has, I'd say 8-12.

We're planning to bring them to the vet again for a cleaning and see if any more teeth
need be pulled(this has gotten expensive). I'm concerned with the anesthesia also and would prefer not to do
this, but I'm willing to do whatever the dogs needs.

So here are a few question I'd appreciate some help on.

Should I get them cleaned and any teeth pulled that may be loose before I go
raw?

Are elderly dogs able to make the transition to raw with missing or bad teeth?

Are there certain raw items I should feed them under these circumstances?

What size portions with bones are safe for Lefty (12 lbs) or Josie (5 lbs)?