GO!

Raw Meaty Bone for 11 week old Puppy

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Barked: Fri Feb 8, '13 7:18pm PST 
I am a raw food diet newbie and I am a little nervous about the introduction of the pups first Raw Meaty Bones. I would love detailed instructions of what to ask the butcher for. I am planning to request Beef Marrow Bones but I'm not sure what size I should ask for. The puppy is maybe 10 lbs max.

I have been told to freeze the RMB and then take it away after about 12 hours.

I am nervous that I will cause tooth damage but everything I have read said that if there is meat on the bone then the danger is low.

I am too nervous to try chicken yet, even though everything I read says to start with that. I'd like to work my way up to chicken.

I am going to start with an Honest Kitchen raw diet and supplement with RMB until I get more confidence.

Thanks in advance for your help.
[notify]

Barked: Fri Feb 8, '13 8:56pm PST 
I just started feeding raw as well and I feed Stella and cheweys. They make premade raw food. Their website has a phone number u can call and that way u could make sure you were feeding the right amount to your dog.
[notify]

Barked: Fri Feb 8, '13 10:59pm PST 
Is there a particular reason you are avoiding chicken? Chicken is much easier to handle for puppies than beef. The meat is easier to tear and the bones are easier to crunch.
[notify]

Barked: Sat Feb 9, '13 5:48am PST