GO!

My dog doesn't like liver! What should I do?

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  

Barked: Mon Feb 4, '13 6:01am PST 
I have a 35-pound mixed breed, named Cali, 1yo. We have owned her for 2 months, and we started her on raw food right away when we got her. (I have little other experience with raw fed pets.) She has been doing great, but she won't eat liver or kidney. Sometimes she will eat calf liver if I cut it up and cook it very slightly in lard. Sometimes I "force feed" the liver to her, with treats. I really need the feeding to be easier on me. Aren't dogs supposed to *like* liver? Do all dogs have to eat liver to be healthy? What should I do?

Also, I'd like her to eat pork liver, or kidneys, which don't even taste as good as calf liver. I like calf liver myself and don't want to give it to the dog!

By the way, I'm new to the forum, and I tried to search for "liver" but I couldn't find anything specific to my question. If there's a better way to find answers, besides asking on a new thread, please say so!

Thanks for your help.
[notify]
Cookie

the chi-weenie

Barked: Mon Feb 4, '13 7:25am PST 
yeah that's actually really common.
my dog does not a fan of the organs either.

first thing you should try it freezing it in bite sized pieces.
If she still won't eat it, there are other things like Parmesan cheese, yogurt, or anything else she likes to put on it.. lightly cooking it... which I agree is all a pain and it's easier if they just eat it.