GO!

BARF diet help - please :)

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Barked: Fri Feb 1, '13 3:43am PST 
Hello All! I am new to RAW feeding and need some guidance/a but of mentorship smile

My dog, Otis: 18 week old labradoodle (5th gen.) 10.55kilos

Diet: BARF diet: I read books and have been trying to find info online. Otis has been on the BARF diet since 10weeks

Current Sample Diet:
Breakfast: 50/50% patty meet/veg: 140grams, 60grams dog food
Lunch: 50/50% patty meet/veg: 140grams, 60grams dog food
Dinner: 50/50% patty meet/veg: 140grams, 60grams dog food

**He gets offal 3xper week and liver 4xper week
**vitamin E and cod oil daily

Problem: We were giving him chicken wing bones but he started swallowing them WHOLE then throwing them up. We have tried giving him other bones: lamb neck, lamb ribs, but he won't eat the bones.

We know it's VERY important for him to get the bones as part of this diet but we don't know what to do. I heard you can grind the bones but it's not a beneficial. I think there are also supplements you can give, but again, bones are better....

Any guidance you can give would be much appreciated.
[notify]
Saya

I want to play!

Barked: Fri Feb 1, '13 7:30am PST 
What breed is your dog? Can't tell..

Try chicken quarters if a big dog can take it away if the dog ate enough depending on size..

Is the cod oil cod liver oil?

I'd switch to fish oil or salmon oil as it's better plus you don't want to overdo it on vitamin A liver has vitamin a..