GO!

New puppy, new job - need advice!

Got a new, young, furry love in your life? This is the place for you to ask all of your questions-big or small! Just remember that you are receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a vet or behaviorist! Most important is to remember to have fun with your new fur baby.

Hudson

Dorky Doodle

Barked: Mon Sep 30, '13 12:52pm PST 
Hi everyone! We just picked up our adorable new family member this past Saturday! She's doing amazing so far! She's already scratching to go outside to do her business! And she's already sitting on command...I think we have a super puppy!! smile

Here's what I need help with...
First off, we have a 2 1/2 yr old boy who we've raised from a puppy. I'm a teacher and we got him at the end of June so I was off with him for the summer. We crate trained him, and he got used to spending his days in his crate. This past summer we had a second dog stay with us for a while (while I was home again for the summer). Ever since then our boy decided to grow up and didn't need to be in his crate anymore. YAY! (He used to be a big chewer).
We just knew it was time to get another dog, so we picked out our little girl (knowing I would be home because I hadn't got a job yet)...we put down a deposit, and two days later I got a job an hour away from home. My husband and I commute every day.
We live too far away from our closest family and friends, and have no one that would come let our puppy out during the day. We can't afford day care (I've looked into it) and there are no dog walking services out where we live.

SO! We are going to have to leave her alone all day long with our other dog. We don't expect her to hold it for the entire day (I know she will only last 3 hours) but I'm wondering what situation would be better...