GO!

New Pup: Half-BlueHeeler & Quarter JackRussel/RatTerrier

Got a new, young, furry love in your life? This is the place for you to ask all of your questions-big or small! Just remember that you are receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a vet or behaviorist! Most important is to remember to have fun with your new fur baby.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  

Barked: Thu Jan 24, '13 10:33pm PST 
So, I'm new to being a dog owner.

That being said, I grew up with dogs, cats, and parrots all my life. Now as an adult, I have parrots (which are trained extremly well due to love/patience) and a pet minipig (a juliani, who is also very well trained and lives in an apartment with ease).

So this new addition, a young female, will hopefully fit in nicely. I've read that both breeds are very dominant, aggressive, bitey, and needs exercise and attention etc. etc. I doubt that a puppies bite would be worse than my parrots (macaw who split walnuts in seconds) but I'm still a bit concerned. I used clicker training and positive reinforcement for the parrots and the pig, and it worked out awesomely. I know that dogs respond well to clicker training, but the whole apartment thing is the issue I have.

Do you think that this mix can be successful in an apartment with good training and walks + playtime whenever home? Also, with the ACD's nature, do you think having a pet pig (25lbs and 16" at the hip full grown) is going to cause an issue? shrug
[notify]
Jackson Tan

Lad about town

Barked: Fri Jan 25, '13 4:16am PST 
Well, that's probably a question that should have been asked and answered before you bought the pup home.