GO!

Aggression toward one person...

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

Barked: Wed Jul 31, '13 8:36pm PST 
Hello, My name is Joe. I am 20 years old and I picked up a Parson Jack Russell a little over 2 weeks ago.
I did a lot of research into what breed of dog I wanted and I was decided months ago on a Jack Russell. What drives people crazy the most is what I was most looking forward to which is a very active dog that could accompany me fishing, running, and biking. (I am an athletic trainer and live a very active lifestyle)
My friend works at a shelter for dogs and informed me that there was a great looking Jack Russell who was a female and 1 year old. They had taken possession of her that same day and she was formerly a stray but was in excellent health and was house trained so in other words couldn't have been a stray for long.
I took her in and it was clear she was a great dog but needed some discipline and someone to be firm and in charge with her. I applied many of the techniques I read online for training Jack Russells and she responded remarkably. Even my parents were blown away by her intelligence and how quickly she became well mannered and disciplined. She is well exercised as I take her out everyday after work. In addition, she spends about 1-2 hours a day free roaming our + Acres of land and doing as she pleases. (hunting, digging) I am thrilled with her so far, the only thing that I haven't been able to fix is her on/off aggression towards my dad.