GO!

How much calcium do my dogs need?

This is the place to share your best homemade dog food and treat recipes with each other! Remember to use caution if your pet has allergies and to make any diet changes gradually so that your dog's stomach can adjust to the new foods you are introducing.

Savvy

Savvy Savverson

Barked: Mon Oct 29, '12 3:17pm PST 
They are 9 and 10 lbs. what is the best calcium supplement I can buy (at Walmart?) and what would their daily dose be?

I'm new at this and can't find my answer. I ordered a multivitamin for dogs (animal essentials) it doesn't have calcium or phosphorus I believe so you can add your own.
[notify]
Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Mon Oct 29, '12 5:19pm PST 
Since commercial foods have more than enough calcium and phosphorus it would be a bad idea to put it in a supplement meant to be mixed with commercial food.

See Sedona's thread on balancing homecooking for information on how to figure out how much calcium and phosphorus. Your supplement is unlikely to do the whole job but don't worry about it, it would take months for a deficiency to develop so you have plenty of time to learn how to get any missing bits and pieces into the diet.

Also see dogaware's page on home cooked food. It is awesome.
http://www.dogaware.com/diet/homemade.html

If Max had to have cooked food I hope I could feed something like this.
http://www.b-naturals.com/newsletter/low-glycemic/