GO!

Home cooking beginner

This is the place to share your best homemade dog food and treat recipes with each other! Remember to use caution if your pet has allergies and to make any diet changes gradually so that your dog's stomach can adjust to the new foods you are introducing.

Layla

Look at my- cuteness..now- pet me!!!

Barked: Tue Jun 5, '12 3:17pm PST 
As the title suggests i'm just beginning on my home cooking journey. I have 2 dogs a 4month pomeranian and a 5 year old collie cross.

At the min they are both on bland diet of rice and chicken after i stupidly change kibble flavour without slow introduction. It was the same brand so figured they would be ok, big mistake, never again red face

Anyhow i have been reading about home cooking and the idea of providing a cooked meal for my furries gets the thumbs up. Only thing is i'm not sure where to start. I want to give 1 home cooked meal in the morning and kibble on the evening.

Does any1 know of a good recipe to get me started, that i could use fo both dogs??

It would be much appreciated by myself and the blue dog
[notify]
Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Tue Jun 5, '12 4:32pm PST 
Here is a whole lot of info. Check the suggested books if you feel better using something on paper. Some may be in your local library and some can be previewed online.
http://www.dogaware.com/diet/homemade.html

If you just add 1/2 tsp of powdered egg shell to a pound of the raw meat in that yummy goop you are feeding right now it is in a good place although chances are your dogs are getting more than enough calcium from eating a diet that is only half kibble. This is exactly where I started with my dogs but no kibble.