GO!

Breed specific observations

Good grooming practices are essential for maintaining health and happiness for you and your dog. This is a forum to exchange tips and advice for proper care of your dog's hygiene needs.

(Page 1 of 3: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  
Noah

Herpaderp-apotam- us

Barked: Mon Nov 12, '12 4:54pm PST 
I've been working in my current salon for about 2 years now and during that time, I've come to notice that certain breeds some to all act in the same way. For example:

- Schnauzers hate having their feet handled
- Goldens like to it down on the table and are always pawing at you
- Malamutes/huskies hate getting wet
- Biting dogs are more often small than big
- Dobies like to kick like mules when you trim their nails

Anyone notice the same sort of things? Or want to add any observations on your own?
[notify]
Ava & Nix

Suburban Farm- Dogs

Barked: Mon Nov 12, '12 8:19pm PST 
Haha! Yes! I've noticed things like this at our salon too. smile

Beagles think they're immune to gravity, and will repeatedly try launching themselves off tables and out of tubs.

Pugs almost always take 2 people to do nails on.

Pit bulls are always crazy for the blow dryer, and always put up a huge fight for nails too.

Shiba Inus put up a fight for everything. They might as well be cats, because they hate being bathed and will throw a huge fit if even the slightest amount of water touches them, they hate being brushed, they hate their nails done, etc.. Huskies aren't much different.

...And this isn't related to any specific breed, but you can pretty much guarantee that any dog named Prince or Princess, or Precious, is going to be big trouble! wink
[notify]
Sonja

It's all about- me.

Barked: Tue Nov 13, '12 1:10pm PST 
LOL...these are interesting. Any observations about Standard Poodles?
[notify]

Toto, CD, RN, CGC

We don't do- doodles!!!

Barked: Tue Nov 13, '12 2:49pm PST