GO!

Tear Stains?

Good grooming practices are essential for maintaining health and happiness for you and your dog. This is a forum to exchange tips and advice for proper care of your dog's hygiene needs.

Carter

Professional- Fetcher

Barked: Tue May 8, '12 9:31pm PST 
Hey guys. My shih tzu mix has had TERRIBLE tear stains ever since he came into my life about 10 months ago. I've tried so many eye wipes products, liquid removers, etc. that either didn't help or made the problem worse. I've been giving him Angels' Eyes for about two months with a bit of improvement (I think?) but it's hard to tell because the stains have to grow out and be cut out and it's basically meant to prevent future tear stains, not take them away. I've also asked his vet and numerous groomers for product suggestions and they always say they have no idea.

After reading some more online recently, some people have expressed concerns about what's in Angels' Eyes and said it's made their dog sick. Carter has been absolutely fine but I'd rather be safe than sorry. I hate how bad his stains are because it makes it look like I don't take care of his grooming needs and I do, and they also seem a little itchy for him sometimes. Has anyone found anything safe that actually works to prevent tear stains? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated smile

Edited by author Tue May 8, '12 9:32pm PST

[notify]
Ch.- Rushwind's- She Who- Speaks

Thats Ms. Bitch- to you.

Barked: Wed May 9, '12 5:22am PST 
Honestly Angel eyes is what I would reccomend, I've seen it work wonders ,you're going to want to use the whole line though, and mainly the powder for a more immediate visual difference. Make sure his food is free of unnecessary grains and dyes, and beet pulp, its an unnecessary filler.
[notify]
Ch. Ali, CGC

We don't do- doodles!!

Barked: Wed May 9, '12 6:29am PST