GO!

Taking an aggressive dog to be groomed....

Good grooming practices are essential for maintaining health and happiness for you and your dog. This is a forum to exchange tips and advice for proper care of your dog's hygiene needs.

(Page 1 of 3: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  
Chloe

OG- Original- Goberian

Barked: Thu Mar 31, '11 12:07pm PST 
I don't really get into grooming, I prefer low maintenance dogs that just need to be brushed, and I brush and bathe my dogs myself, so pardon me if this sounds crazy to some of you....

I have been asking my mom to get her pomeranian groomed for several months now (I don't live w/ her). His nails are overgrown and he is kind of matted. Its not severe or anything, nothing like you'd see on "Animal cops" or anything like that lol, but I just think he needs to be professionally groomed. He eats premium food but his coat is in poor shape, I think from lack of grooming.

The problem is that he is a nasty little dog. He can be sweet sometimes but he can also be snappy and aggressive. My mom always says she will do the grooming herself but she never does, and I'm sure that's because he puts up a fight with her and she gives up.

I'm willing to take him to be groomed and pay for it, but I'm not sure how to handle it. This dog doesn't "get out" much, so I think he would either be so scared that he would just freeze up, or he would turn nasty.

How do you approach a groomer with a situation like this? Esp since I don't personally have a groomer and I've never been to any of the grooming places around here, so I don't even know where to start. Should I take him to a vet instead? Would it be fine as long as he is muzzled?? (He's never had a muzzle on either, but I could probably get one on him.)

I wanna help this little guy, just don't know what to do!!
[notify]
Angus

Don't mess with- me!

Barked: Thu Mar 31, '11 12:14pm PST 
Angus can be snappy too. But I have never had a groomer complain about him.