GO!

Taking My Goldie To College?

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

Mia

Barked: Sun Oct 16, '11 6:16pm PST 
I'm really new here and had no idea where to post this. But hopefully other Goldie owners might have a better idea than I do...Anyways, I'm currently a college student finishing off my second year of Uni as a Pre-Vet major. Because I transferred out of state I had to leave my girl at home while I lived in the dorms. But I've recently found dog friendly apartments and my campus is pretty dog friendly as well. However my biggest concern is that my Goldie will be quite miserable out here. She currently has an acre to roam and hunt on with the other two family dogs. The apartments have quite a bit of property with a large lake for the dogs to play in, and twice a week students bring their dogs to campus for play-dates. But she would be spending a bit of time indoors while I'm in class. I'm just worried about her ability to adjust to such a big change along with the four day drive between home and the college town. Has anyone else had experience with this? Thanks everyone!dog

Edited by author Sun Oct 16, '11 6:21pm PST

[notify]
Lilly

Barked: Sat Nov 12, '11 8:40am PST 
I guess my question would be, how far are you from home? If you're not far, why not try it for a week trial run and see how it goes? You should probably pick a normal week, with no mid-terms or anything else out of the ordinary as your trial week. This would be the only way for you to know for sure if this will work.