GO!

Is it OK to feed primarily Honest Kitchen and occasionally Kibble?

Discuss ways to improve the quality of your dog's life and longevity through proper nutrition; a place for all of your questions and answers about feeding your pooch!

Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times. Non-informative posts criticizing a particular brand or another poster’s choice of food are not allowed in this Forum. References to any brand of food as "junk," "garbage," or other harsh names will be removed.

Barked: Wed Dec 26, '12 1:00pm PST 
I've been feeding our miniature schnauzer home cooked for about 6 months with good success.
But,in November, circumstances requiring frequent travel made me switch her to Honest Kitchen Preference(the kind that requires adding a raw , or; in my case, home cooked protein) .

Spiffy seams to be doing great on the H K. Energy level very good, coat and eyes shine and I'm quite happy with it.

We realize I could by the H K with an added protein in it, but like to vary the meats/poultry/fish every few days and don't , at this point, want to buy that many boxes of it.

I try to be sure there are enough containers in the freezer of her cooked proteins on hand for my husband who is her current feeder. Let's just say, he is not one to do much in the kitchen, And, this has been working out "fairly" well.

I would like to get a bag of Wellness Core Kibble to keep on hand for him to use in case he forgets to defrost the protein packs.

Is there any harm in feeding the Honest Kitchen Preference and occasionally feeding a meal of the kibble? Little seems to bother her stomach.

I know it is not good to feed kibble while feeding raw due to stomach not digesting both the same way which can cause problems.

Thanks
Liz

happy dance
[notify]
Ridley

Cry cry cry!

Barked: Wed Dec 26, '12 2:30pm PST 
It shouldn't be a problem at all.