GO!

The Situation With Dogs in China

This forum is dedicated to places that people and dogs can enjoy together. If you want to travel, sight-see, or just go around town with your pooch, then you've come to the right place! Don't forget to plan a visit to Dogster's Pet-Friendly Travel Area! Book travel and support Dogster.

Kujo

That's mine.- That too. It's- all mine.

Barked: Sat Jun 4, '11 6:25am PST 
I didn't know where else to put this, so here it is. I just need to vent to some people who don't think I'm crazy for caring.

I'm studying abroad in China right now, and before this was in South Korea. (This post JUST concerns China- South Korea was wonderful.) Been overseas since May 7th, and will be heading back to the states this Friday, and I can't wait. (And don't worry, Kujo has been staying with my parents and has been INCREDIBLY spoiled, while Rinoa doesn't get to come home from the breeder until July 1st.)

China is making me miserable because I love dogs and cats so much. Every street here, even in the big cities, has skinny injured strays just wandering around. Most of them are friendly, probably used to getting fed by friendly humans, though there seem to be few people who bother with them. Most pet dogs are unleashed. The few pet cats I've seen have been tied somewhere with a rope next to a bowl of rice, with only a few feet to live in and defecate in. They're all desperate for attention.

One stray dog followed me all the way to the outdoor table where I was eating with friends. She was in heat, but very calm and intelligent. I nicknamed her Cherona, and tossed her bits of beef from the hot pot when no one was paying attention. I never tried to pet her- I never try to pet the strays in this country- but she laid a few feet away in the shade and seemed to appreciate the food.