GO!

Summer travel... please help!!

This forum is dedicated to places that people and dogs can enjoy together. If you want to travel, sight-see, or just go around town with your pooch, then you've come to the right place! Don't forget to plan a visit to Dogster's Pet-Friendly Travel Area! Book travel and support Dogster.

Gwen

Barked: Wed May 18, '11 2:30pm PST 
Hi, I am a graduate student from Italy, but living and studying in a US University since 2008. My doggy, Gwen, is a 9 years old min-pin, originally from Italy, who traveled a lot with me in the past (around Europe, the US and Puerto Rico). This summer, my husband and I will have to travel to Latin America for research, and we would like to bring with us Gwen. This is the schedule of our trip: at the end of June, we'll be leaving for Buenos Aires, Argentina, where we'll stay for a month. From there, we will go for 2 weeks to Sao Paulo, Brazil, and again, from there, we'll travel to Mexico City, where we'll stay for another month. We will basically stay away for 2 moths 1/2.
Now, we have already found the airlines that accepts pets in-cabin (that's where she always travels), and actually bought the ticket also for her. The problem is that now I'm staring worrying that maybe this trip will be too stressful for her (it will be a total of 3 flights, but each of them has a stop, so basically, the real flights are 6). Unfortunately, there is nobody here in the US that can take care of her for these 2 1/2 months (all my friends, grads students, will be also traveling around). The other option could be this: my mother is gonna come and visit me from Italy in a couple of weeks... Gwen could go with her to Italy, stay with her for the summer (she has already spent a summer in my mom's house 4 years ago, when I was traveling in Australia), and then, my husband and I could go to Italy and bring her back home to the US in September.