GO!

Possible Seizures?

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

Barked: Wed Apr 17, '13 6:18am PST 
Hi everyone - this is my first time posting here, and I'm hoping some of you can help me out. My dog (Chi mix) Ella has always had a problem with vomiting, usually at night, usually in my bedcry This morning I woke up to the sound of retching, so I jumped out of bed, picked her up and put her in the floor, and ran for something to clean up with. But when I put her in the floor she didn't move. She was very stiff, with her legs sticking straight out (not laying on her side). She didn't actually convulse, at least not that I could see. When I picked her up she whined a little and still stayed stiff for a few minutes. Afterwards she acted very strange, moving tenderly and stiffly. She did go to the bathroom ALOT when I sent my dogs out into the yard (right afterward). This all happened a little less than an hour and a half ago, and now she seems completely fine. She's been sleeping mostly, but a dog barked outside and she jumped up, barked, and ran outside as usual - none of the stiffness or "tenderness" like before. Anyway, I am wondering if it was actually some sort of seizure. Has anyone experienced anything like this before? I'd love to hear some other opinions before I get too worried. Otherwise she is in good health for a seven year old little doggy! Thanks!
[notify]
Kubo

Barked: Wed Apr 17, '13 7:22am PST 
It does kind of sound like a seizure, but when our dog had one there was a lot of obvious shaking & leg 'running', I guess it can manifest in different ways. The disorientation part sounds very much like an after-fit reaction. They often look very 'lost', shake, urinate with no control & generally appear 'out of it' for a few minutes after.