GO!

PENNSYLVANIA Rabies Waiver SB 155 ACTION ALERT

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

  


Member Since
01/28/2008
 
 
Barked: Fri Jan 25, '13 6:49am PST 
PENNSYLVANIA Rabies Medical Exemption Bill SB 155 (January 2013)
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/CFDOCS/Legis/PN/Public/btCheck.cfm?tx tType=HTM&sessYr=2013&sessInd=0&billBody=S&billTyp=B&billNbr=0155&pn =0107 has been introduced for a 3rd time by Senator Greenleaf & has been referred to the Senate Agriculture Committee (link to Senator Greenleaf's memo reintroducing this bill http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?cha mber=S&SPick=20130&cosponId=9832).

What You Can Do to Help

Please contact members below asking them to vote to pass this bill, SB 155, for dogs and cats determined by a veterinarian to be too ill to be vaccinated.

PERMISSION GRANTED TO CROSS-POST

Members of the Pennsylvania Senate Agriculture Committee

Senator Elder Vogel, Chair (717) 787-3076 Evogel@pasen.gov
Senator Michael Waugh, Vice-Chair (717) 787-3817 mwaugh@pasen.gov
Senator Judith L. Schwank, Minority Chair (717) 787-8925 SenatorSchwank@pasenate.com
Senator David G. Argall (717) 787-2637 dargall@pasen.gov
Senator Joseph Scarnati (717) 787-7084 jscarnati@pasen.gov
Senator Mike Brubaker (717) 787-4420 mbrubaker@pasen.gov
Senator Robert Robbins (717) 787-1322 rrobbins@pasen.gov
Senator Gene Yaw (717) 787-3280 gyaw@pasen.gov
Senator Andrew Dinniman (717) 787-5709 andy@pasenate.com
Senator Shirley Kitchen (717) 787-6735 kitchen@pasenate.com
Senator Timothy Solobay (717) 787-1463 tsolobay@pasenate.com

The Rabies Challenge Fund Letter to Pennsylvania State Veterinarian

June 29, 2010

Dr. Craig E. Shultz
State Veterinarian
Department of Agriculture
2301 N. Cameron Street, Room 410
Harrisburg, PA 17110

RE: Medical Exemption Clause for Pennsylvania’s Rabies Prevention and Control Code

Greetings Dr. Shultz:

On behalf of The Rabies Challenge Fund and the Pennsylvania pet owners who have contacted us requesting assistance, we respectfully request that you, in your capacity as State Veterinarian, initiate medical exemption legislation waiving the rabies immunization requirement in Chapter 16, Subchapter C., §16.43 of the Pennsylvania Code for the small number of animals whose veterinarians have determined their medical conditions preclude vaccination.

The states of Alabama, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin all have medical exemption clauses for sick animals in their rabies immunization laws, and a bill is currently pending in the California legislature to include a waiver in their statutes.

The labels on rabies vaccines state that they are for “the vaccination of healthy cats, dogs…,” and there are medical conditions for which vaccination can jeopardize the life or well-being of an animal. A medical exemption clause would allow Pennsylvania veterinarians to write waivers for animals whose medical conditions (such as those with cancer, kidney/liver failure, hemolytic anemia, thrombocytopenia, grand mal seizures, and chronic autoimmune disorders) would be exacerbated by rabies vaccination. The State of Maine inserted such an exemption into their 3 year rabies protocol, 7 M.R.S.A., Sec. 3922(3), which became effective in April 2005 -- not one rabid dog has been reported in the more than 5 years since that date. Colorado’s data reflect the same -- there have been no rabid dogs reported in the state since passage of their medical exemption clause in July 2008.

Maine’s exemption language is as follows:

A. A letter of exemption from vaccination may be submitted for licensure, if a medical reason exists that precludes the vaccination of the dog. Qualifying letters must be in the form of a written statement, signed by a licensed veterinarian, that includes a description of the dog, and the medical reason that precludes vaccination. If the medical reason is temporary, the letter shall indicate a time of expiration of the exemption.

B. A dog exempted under the provisions of paragraph 5 A, above, shall be considered unvaccinated, for the purposes of 10-144 C.M.R. Ch.251, Section 7(B)(1), (Rules Governing Rabies Management) in the case of said dog’s exposure to a confirmed or suspect rabid animal.

The Rabies Challenge Fund strongly urges you to request legislation be submitted on behalf of the Department of Agriculture amending Chapter 16, Subchapter C., §16.43 of the Pennsylvania Code to include medical exemption language for unhealthy animals for which rabies vaccination would compromise their well-being.

Sincerely,

Kris L. Christine
Founder, Co-Trustee
THE RABIES CHALLENGE FUND
http://www.RabiesChallengeFund.org
ledgespring@lincoln.midcoast.com

cc: Dr. W. Jean Dodds
Dr. Ronald Schultz
Pennsylvania General Assembly
[notify]


Member Since
01/28/2008
 
 
Barked: Thu Feb 28, '13 6:16am PST 
PENNSYLVANIA Rabies Medical Exemption Bill SB 155 http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/billinfo.cfm?syear=2013 &sind=0&body=S&type=B&BN=0155 has been referred to the Senate Appropriations Committee. Please contact Committee Chair, Senator Jake Corman jcorman@pasen.gov (717) 787-1377 & committee members listed below & ask them to SUPPORT this bill so that it will go to the full Senate for a 3rd & final consideration: http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/cteeInfo/Index.cfm?Code=3&CteeBo dy=S

Senate Appropriations Committee Members

Sen. Jake Corman, Chair jcorman@pasen.gov (717) 787-1377
Sen. Vincent J. Hughes, Minority Chair huges@pasenate.gov (717) 787-7112
Sen. Robert M. Tomlinson, Vice Chair rtomlinson@pasen.gov (717) 787-5072
Sen. Dominic Pileggi dpileggi@pasen.gov (717) 787-4712
Sen. Joseph B. Scarnati jscarnati@pasen.gov (717) 787-7084
Sen. David G. Argall dargall@pasen.gov (717) 787-2637
Sen. Lisa Baker@pasen.gov (717) 787-7428
Sen. Mike Brubaker mbrubaker@pasen.gov (717) 787-4420
Sen. John R. Gordner jgordner@pasen.gov (717) 787-8928
Sen. Stewart J. Greenleaf sgreenleaf@pasen.gov (717) 787-6599
Sen. Bob Mensch bmensch@pasen.gov (717) 787-3110
Sen. John C. Rafferty, Jr.jrafferty@pasen.gov (717) 787-1398
Sen. Lloyd K. Smucker lsmucker@pasen.gov (717) 787-6535
Sen. Patricia H. Vance vance@pasen.gov (717) 787-8524
Sen. Elder A. Vogel, Jr. evogel@pasen.gov (717) 787-3076
Sen. Randy Vulakovich rvulakovich@pasen.gov (717) 787-6538
Sen. Michael L. Waugh mwaugh@pasen.gov (717) 787-3817
Sen. Jim Ferlo, Minority Vice Chair ferlo@pasen.gov (717) 787-6123
Sen. Jay Costa costa@pasenate.gov (717) 787-7683
Sen. John Blake senatorblake@pasenate.gov (717) 787-6481
Sen. Lawrence M. Farnese, Jr. lfarnese@pasen.gov (717) 787-5662
Sen. Judith L. Schwank SenatorSchwank@pasenate.gov (717) 787-8925
Sen. Timothy J. Solobay tsolobay@pasenate.gov (717) 787-1463
Sen. LeAnna M. Washington washington@pasenate.gov (717) 787-1427
Sen. John N. Wozniak wozniak@pasenate.gov (717) 787-5400
Sen. John T. Yudichak yudichak@pasenate.gov (717) 787-7105

PERMISSION GRANTED TO CROSS-POST
[notify]


Member Since
01/28/2008
 
 
Barked: Fri Mar 15, '13 3:46pm PST 
PENNSYLVANIA Rabies Medical Exemption Bill SB 155 http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/billinfo.cfm?syear=2013 &sind=0&body=S&type=B&BN=0155 will be voted on by the Senate Appropriations Committee on Monday, March 18th. Please contact Committee Chair, Senator Jake Corman jcorman@pasen.gov (717) 787-1377 & committee members listed below & ask them to SUPPORT this bill so that it will go to the full Senate for a 3rd & final consideration: http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/cteeInfo/Index.cfm?Code=3&CteeBo dy=S

Senate Appropriations Committee Members

Sen. Jake Corman, Chair jcorman@pasen.gov (717) 787-1377
Sen. Vincent J. Hughes, Minority Chair hughes@pasenate.gov (717) 787-7112
Sen. Robert M. Tomlinson, Vice Chair rtomlinson@pasen.gov (717) 787-5072
Sen. Dominic Pileggi dpileggi@pasen.gov (717) 787-4712
Sen. Joseph B. Scarnati jscarnati@pasen.gov (717) 787-7084
Sen. David G. Argall dargall@pasen.gov (717) 787-2637
Sen. Lisa Baker baker@pasen.gov (717) 787-7428
Sen. Mike Brubaker mbrubaker@pasen.gov (717) 787-4420
Sen. John R. Gordner jgordner@pasen.gov (717) 787-8928
Sen. Stewart J. Greenleaf sgreenleaf@pasen.gov (717) 787-6599
Sen. Bob Mensch bmensch@pasen.gov (717) 787-3110
Sen. John C. Rafferty, Jr.jrafferty@pasen.gov (717) 787-1398
Sen. Lloyd K. Smucker lsmucker@pasen.gov (717) 787-6535
Sen. Patricia H. Vance vance@pasen.gov (717) 787-8524
Sen. Elder A. Vogel, Jr. evogel@pasen.gov (717) 787-3076
Sen. Randy Vulakovich rvulakovich@pasen.gov (717) 787-6538
Sen. Michael L. Waugh mwaugh@pasen.gov (717) 787-3817
Sen. Jim Ferlo, Minority Vice Chair ferlo@pasen.gov (717) 787-6123
Sen. Jay Costa costa@pasenate.gov (717) 787-7683
Sen. John Blake senatorblake@pasenate.gov (717) 787-6481
Sen. Lawrence M. Farnese, Jr. lfarnese@pasen.gov (717) 787-5662
Sen. Judith L. Schwank SenatorSchwank@pasenate.gov (717) 787-8925
Sen. Timothy J. Solobay tsolobay@pasenate.gov (717) 787-1463
Sen. LeAnna M. Washington washington@pasenate.gov (717) 787-1427
Sen. John N. Wozniak wozniak@pasenate.gov (717) 787-5400
Sen. John T. Yudichak yudichak@pasenate.gov (717) 787-7105

PERMISSION GRANTED TO CROSS-POST
[notify]



Member Since
01/28/2008
 
 
Barked: Thu May 30, '13 3:54am PST 
PENNSYLVANIA Rabies Medical Exemption Bill SB 155 will be heard in the House Agriculture Committee on Tuesday, June 4th at 9:30 a.m. http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/cteeInfo/Index.cfm?Code=2&CteeBo dy=H. Please contact Chairs John Maher (717) 783-1522 JMaher@pahousegop.com, Joseph A. Petrarca (717) 787-5142 JPetrarc@pahouse.net & committee members below to ask them to SUPPORT SB 155.

Pennsylvania House Agriculture Committee Members

John Maher, Chair (717) 783-1522 jmaher@pahousegop.com
Joseph A. Petrarca Co-Chair (717) 787-5142 jpetrarc@pahouse.net
Mindy Fee (717) 772-5290 mfee@pahousegop.com
Mike Reese (717) 783-9311 Mreese@pahousegop.com
Stephen Bloom (717) 772-2280 sbloom@pahousegop.com
Michele Brooks (717) 783-5008 mbrooks@pahousegop.com
Gordon Denlinger (717) 787-3531 gdenling@pahousegop.com
Joe Emrick (717) 260-6159 Jemrick@pahousegop.com
Mikie Fleck (717) 787-3335 mfleck@pahousegop.com
Marcia Hahn (717) 783-8573 mhahn@pahousegop.com
David Hickernell (717) 783-2076 Dhickern@pahousegop.com
Rob Kauffman (717) 705-2004 rkauffma@pahousegop.com
Mark Keller (717) 783-1593 mkeller@pahousegop.com
David Millard (717) 783-1102 dmillard@pahousegop.com
Dan Moul (717) 783-5217 dmoul@pahousegop.com
Mike Tobash (717) 260-6148 mtobash@pahousegop.com
Deberah Kula (717) 772-1858 DKuhla@pahouse.net
Brandon Neuman (717) 783-4834 BNeuman@pahouse.net
Scott Conklin (717) 787-9473 SConklin@pahouse.net
Pamela DeLissio (717) 783-4945 PDelissi@pahouse.net
Sid Michaels Kavulich (717) 783-4874 SKavulic@pahouse.net
Rick Mirabito (717) 772-1314 RMirabit@pahouse.net
Mark Painter (717) 783-4073 MPainter@pahouse.net
Mark Rozzi (717) 783-3290 MRozzi@pahouse.net
Jake Wheatley, Jr. (717) 783-3783 JWheatle@pahouse.net
[notify]


Member Since
01/28/2008
 
 
Barked: Wed Jul 3, '13 3:28pm PST 
The Pennsylvania General Assembly unanimously passed SB 155 putting a medical exemption clause into their rabies law today (July 3) & will become the 18th state with an exemption as soon as the bill is signed by the Governor http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/bill_history.cfm?syear= 2013&sind=0&body=S&type=B&bn=155 . Thanks to all who contacted legislators to help get this bill passed!

SB 155 Text: http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/PN/Public/btCheck.cfm?txtT ype=HTM&sessYr=2013&sessInd=0&billBody=S&billTyp=B&billNbr=0155&pn=1 211
[notify]
Octavia

I'm Not a Pit- Bull
 
 
Barked: Thu Jul 4, '13 6:47am PST 
If you want to get a rabies exemption in Pennsylvania, you have to contact your vet. Get a copy of all your dog's vet records. Get the rabies exemption form from your local Animal and Public Health Department office. Take the form to your vet to be signed. Make sure to keep all paperwork or a copy of al paperwork!
[notify]
Toto, CD, RN, CGC

We don't do- doodles!!!
 
 
Barked: Thu Jul 4, '13 7:16am PST 
Octavia, had you read ALL the posts you would have realized that PA is one of the states currently WITHOUT a Rabies exemption law and no amount of contacting public officials would grant ANY exception. Not only is this NOT HEALTHY for any ill dog, it also subjects YOUR dog to immediate euthaniza should it bit someone while not protected with a current vaccine.
This new bill, NOT in effect yet, (but now passed!) will allow for that process to occur.

Edited by author Thu Jul 4, '13 7:18am PST

[notify]
Octavia

I'm Not a Pit- Bull
 
 
Barked: Sat Jul 6, '13 10:04am PST 
About three years ago a friend of mine who lives in PA was able to get a rabies exemption for her dog...shrug
[notify]


Member Since
01/28/2008
 
 
Barked: Wed Jul 10, '13 3:46am PST 
PENNSYLVANIA Medical Exemption SB 155 was signed into law by Governor Corbett July 9th & will become effective in 60 days (September 7th). Thank you again to everyone who contacted legislators & shared action alerts to make this possible!
[notify]
Mervyn

Bigger is Better
 
 
Barked: Sat Jul 13, '13 9:09pm PST 
Good to hear! dancingdancingdancing

I've never vaccinated Mervyn against rabies and never will. I've given him the rabies nosode when he was 16 weeks and just started him on his second course today (12 months old today). The rabies nosode is just as effective, if not more than the vaccine and doesn't come with all the harmful and potentially fatal side effects. happy dance
[notify]