GO!

Ideal breed? Relatively quiet, medium-to-low energy, small-to-medium size, highly trainable.

If you are wondering what is the right dog for you, this is the place to be. In this introductory forum we talk about topics such as breed vs. mix, size, age, grooming, breeders, shelters, rescues as well as requirements for exercise, space and care. No question is too silly here. This particular forum is for getting and giving helpful, nice advice. It is definitely not a forum for criticizing someone else's opinion, knowledge or advice. This forum is all about tail wagging and learning.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  

Barked: Wed Sep 11, '13 6:18am PST 
What I can offer:
- Studio flat with a small garden (hence quiet).
- 2-3 30-45 min walks a day
- Consistent mental training (I am very new to dog training, but I want a dog for obedience trials and clicker training).
- Doggy day-care 2-3 times a week.
- Live with elderly people and get constant visits from nephews and nieces a few days out of the week. Plus friends have dogs.
- Rarely away for more than 4 hours.

What I want:
- A dog that can walk for more than 10 minutes in the heat. My friend has a Frenchie and she is just exhausted after 5-10 minutes while I was just getting started. I am trying to get fit and active, I want a friend who will hold me accountable, not tempt me back into the couch.
- A dog with an off switch, especially when indoors.
- A dog that won't explode if we miss a day or two of walks (heat and dust storms can be brutal here).
- Relatively quiet. Not a yapper or barker.

What I can't offer or don't want:
- Again, elderly people and young children, the dog can't be too boisterous indoors. Outdoors they can be the Flash on RedBull for all I care.
- No large fenced area. There are technically no dog parks around here. My garden and the size of the doggie day care is the most I can offer.