GO!

Tips for the first meeting?

If you are wondering what is the right dog for you, this is the place to be. In this introductory forum we talk about topics such as breed vs. mix, size, age, grooming, breeders, shelters, rescues as well as requirements for exercise, space and care. No question is too silly here. This particular forum is for getting and giving helpful, nice advice. It is definitely not a forum for criticizing someone else's opinion, knowledge or advice. This forum is all about tail wagging and learning.

Lisa

Always my angel.

Barked: Mon Mar 25, '13 4:54pm PST 
Hi pups! I'm set to meet with my first couple of pre-approved rescue dogs this week (well, pre-approved if there's a good fit), and I'd like some last minute advice as to how to handle it. I've never done this myself before (closest was when I adopted a rescue ferret with my mom when I was 14), and I'm a little nervous. Mostly I'm worried I'll be so excited about meeting a dog that I'll forget to think clearly about things! I've been doing so much research and thinking for so long that I'm starting to get myself all turned around.

So please, tell me - how should I handle myself? What kinds of questions should I ask? What are some tell-tale signs to help me figure out things like temperament? I'll be looking for that connection and gut feeling too, but I don't want to miss out on any red flags or other things that can help me make the best possible decision.

I want to make a good impression on the foster mom, as well as evaluate the dog clearly...I'm sure many of you here have experience with both of those things. I'm putting together my own list as well, but any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated!
[notify]
Toto, CD, RN, CGC

We don't do- doodles!!!

Barked: Mon Mar 25, '13 5:02pm PST 
Lisa, you KNOW the answers to all this, you have posted them again and again and again.